chess images

Chess Images

Participate and you will find!
Strange name, real interests
[ Sign up | Log in | Guest ] (beta)
hamlet 37 ( +1 | -1 )
the whammy I have no clue what it is called, but It has hit me a couple times. I have found that online chess sites allow you to upgrade your pawn to a queen, even if your queen has not been taken. I veiw as a kind of cheating, but I was taught that a pawn can only be upgraded into peices that opponent took. Any thoughts on this.
levigun 11 ( +1 | -1 )
No... A pawn can be promoted to any piece (queen, rook,
bishop, or knight), regardless of whether the
opponent has taken it yet.
brobishkin 9 ( +1 | -1 )
Hey Willie... Want to get together to go over some rules and regulations since we're both in California?...

tulkos 6 ( +1 | -1 )
Philidor thought that you should only be able to 'upgrade' your piece to one your opponent has taken.
hardcorepawn 3 ( +1 | -1 )
I like that rule It kind of makes sense :)
premium_steve 45 ( +1 | -1 )
philidor was a dummy i wouldn't like that rule very much. it seems even harder to upgrade a pawn if your opponent still has his queen. i think, if there were to be a special case made for that kind of promotion, the promoting player should be rewarded instead of punished.

maybe he could be rewarded a super-queen! the queen would be able to move as a knight does in addition to its regular ability. hahaha!
premium_steve 10 ( +1 | -1 )
oops..... i've confused things a bit. but u get the idea. i don't think a player should be punished if he has kept all his pieces.
hardcorepawn 6 ( +1 | -1 )
He would just have to sacrafice his queen just before he promotes
tulkos 6 ( +1 | -1 )
right, hardcorepawn. It would bring a whole new strategy into the promotion.
hardcorepawn 2 ( +1 | -1 )
I might try it in an otb game once :)